Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Reed makes final 10

MIAMI – Buffalo Bills receiver Andre Reed was among  the finalists Saturday who did not get elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Reed, however, made it farther in the process than he had the previous three years he was among the list of 15 finalists.

The Hall’s Class of 2010 was chosen during a seven-hour meeting of selectors. The 15 modern finalists are whittled first to a list of 10 and then to a list of five.

Reed was one of four receivers up for induction. Two of those receivers, Reed and Jerry Rice, made the cut-down to 10. Reed was eliminated in the vote down to five finalists.

Reed, who played for the Bills from 1985 to 1999, caught 951 passes for 13,198 yards. He ended his career ranked third all-time in receptions and fourth in receiving yards. Reed's 87 touchdown catches put him 11th on the all-time list. Reed is third all time in playoff catches and fourth all time in receiving yards in the playoffs.

Eliminated in the cut-down from 15 to 10 were receivers Tim Brown and Cris Carter, running back Roger Craig, defensive end Charles Haley and coach Don Coryell.

Those eliminated with Reed on the cutdown to five were defensive linemen Richard Dent and Cortez Kennedy, center Dermontti Dawson and tight end Sha on Sharpe.

---Mark Gaughan


Bills | Pro Football Hall of Fame
comments powered by Disqus