Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Big disaapointment for 83

DALLAS -- Bills great receiver Andre Reed came oh-so-close but again fell short of induction to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday. Reed made the cutdown in the voting from 15 modern-era finalists down to 10. He made the final 10 ahead of the other two great receivers on the list of 15 - Cris Carter and Tim Brown. Reed was among the final 10 last year as well, ahead of both Carter and Brown. (Jerry Rice also was in the final 10 last year and got elected.)

However, Reed did not make the cut in the reduction from 10 modern candidates to five. This was Reed's fifth straight year as a finalists.

The excruciating wait continues for Reed. Next year's group of first-year eligible candidates does not look overwhelming. It includes Tiki Barber, Will Shields, Drew Bledsoe and Corey Dillon, as well as coaches Bill Parcells, Bill Cowher and Marty Schottenheimer. Bills fans now will have to hope next year is the year for Reed.

---Mark Gaughan



comments powered by Disqus