Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Bills shut out of Pro Bowl

For the second straight year, the Buffalo Bills do not have a representative voted onto the AFC Pro Bowl squad.

It's just the fifth time in franchise history the team hasn't had a player selected for the league's annual all-star game. Before the 2010 season, it had been 24 years since a Bill wasn't named to the squad. The only other times in franchise history came in 1985 and '86, 1970 and the inaugural season of 1960.

It's not surprising the Bills were shut out. After running back Fred Jackson was placed on injured reserve after a Week 11 loss to Miami, he became ineligible for the team. Jackson would have been a shoo-in for the squad if he weren't to have gotten hurt, as he was second in the NFL in yards from scrimmage (1,376) through 10 games.

Bills center Eric Wood also could have made a strong case for the team, but he too was lost to a season-ending injury during a Week 10 loss in Dallas. Players placed on injured reserve during the season become ineligible for the Pro Bowl.

The biggest snub for the Bills would be guard Andy Levitre. The third-year pro has started all 47 games of his career, and proved his versatility this season by starting at left tackle and center because of injuries. The Bills' line has given up 21 sacks, tied for fewest in the league with Tennessee, and has paved the way for a rushing attack that ranks 11th in the NFL (121 yards per game).

---Jay Skurski


Bills | NFL | Pro Bowl | Sports
comments powered by Disqus