Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Niagara wins three major Atlantic Hockey awards

by Amy Moritz

ROCHESTER -- Niagara won three of the major indiviudal conference awards at the pre-tournament reception for Atlantic Hockey held at Blue Cross Arena Thursday night.

Dave Burkholder won Coach of the Year. Goaltender Carsen Chubak won Player ofthe Year and Marc Zanette won the Best Defensive Forward award.

"Carsen has been the best player on the ice for us all year," Burkholder said. "Marc Zanette, he's been the guy who makes things go for us. It's really hard to be a two-way player and he's consistently done that for us."

Chubak also was named a Top 10 Finalist for the for the Hobey Baker Award. He is the third Niagara player to be a Top 10 finalist along with Joe Tallari and Paul Zanette. 

Atlantic Hockey also announced its 10th Annivesary teams. Paul Zanette was a third-team selection while Canisius alum Cory Conacher was a first-team selection.

Canisius and Niagara square off in the conference semifinals at 4 p.m. Friday at Blue Cross Arena.

comments powered by Disqus

About Campus Watch

Bob Dicesare

Bob DiCesare

Western New York native Bob DiCesare covers UB football, Big 4 basketball and writes an occasional column. He still holds a grudge against Chris Ford who, he's convinced, cost St. Bonaventure the 1970 NCAA basketball championship.

@TBNDicesare |

Amy Moritz

Amy Moritz

Amy Moritz, a native of Lockport, has covered colleges for The Buffalo News since 1999. She has a bachelor’s degree in journalism/mass communication from St. Bonaventure University and a master’s degree in humanities from the University at Buffalo. An endurance athlete, she has completed several triathlons, half marathons and marathons.

@amymoritz |