Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

23rd annual Artie Awards announced

The 23rd annual Artie Awards ceremony was held Monday night in the Town Ballroom. Above, the cast of MusicalFare Theatre's "The Music Man" performs a medley of songs from the show. Mary Kate O'Connell, founder of O'Connell and Company, received the annual Career Achievement Award. Below are the winners, with links to News reviews of the productions:

Play: “August: Osage County,” Kavinoky Theatre.

Musical: “Next to Normal,” Irish Classical Theatre Company.

New play: “Seeds,” by Donna Hoke, Road Less Traveled Productions.

Ensemble in a play: “From the Mississippi Delta,” Road Less Traveled Productions.

Ensemble in a musical: “ ’S Wonderful: The New Gershwin Musical,” MusicalFare Theatre.

Direction of a play: Dan Shanahan for “A Streetcar Named Desire,” Torn Space Theater.

Direction of a musical: Fortunato Pezzimenti for “Next to Normal.”

Actress in a play: Sheila McCarthy for “August: Osage County.”

Supporting actress in a play: Kelli Bocock-Natale for “August: Osage County.”

Actress in a musical: Jenn Stafford for “Next to Normal” and Maria Droz for “Knuffle Bunny.”

Supporting actress in a musical: Amy Jakiel for “Rent,” MusicalFare Theatre.

Actor in a play: Brian Riggs for “Angels in America: Millennium Approaches,” Subversive Theatre Collective.

Supporting actor in a play: Victor Morales for “On the Waterfront,” Subversive Theatre Collective and New Phoenix Theatre.

Actor in a musical: Brian Mysliwy for “The Mystery of Edwin Drood,” Kavinoky Theatre.

Supporting actor in a musical: Patrick Cameron in “Next to Normal.”

Costume design: Todd Warfield for “L’Imitation of Life,” Buffalo United Artists.

Set design: Kenneth Shaw for “The Borrowers,” Theatre of Youth.

Choreography: Michael Walline and Doug Weyand for “ ’S Wonderful: The New Gershwin Musical,” MusicalFare Theatre.

Lighting design: John Rickus for “The Clean House,” Road Less Traveled Productions.

--Colin Dabkowski


comments powered by Disqus