Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Eight seek University District seat

By Jill Terreri

The resumes for a vacant seat on the Buffalo Common Council have arrived in the city clerk's office, and they include the Council's chief of staff, a union representative at Goodyear/Dunlop Tire Corp., a longtime city employee and a video surveillance monitor for the Buffalo Police Department. 

The clerk's office has received eight resumes for a vacancy in the University District as of the end of the day today. 

Candidates include: 

  • Mary M. O'Rourke, of 54 Allenhurst Road, a 27-year civil service employee of the city's Department of Management Information Systems. 
  • Rasheed N.C. Wyatt, 73 Easton Ave., chief of staff to the Buffalo Common Council for the last year, senior legislative assistant in the Council staff office for a year before that.
  • Archie L. Amos Jr., 63 Huntley Road, University District Councilman from 1985 to 1993, previously worked as a city school teacher and firefighter.  
  • Michael V. Hicks Jr., of 467 Shirley Ave., a 20-year University District resident and a union representative at Goodyear/Dunlop Tire Corp.
  • Chris W. Brown Jr., of 1520 Kensington Ave., a 17-year University District resident and video surveillance monitor for the Buffalo Police Department since Sept. 2011. Brown has a background in mental health.
  • Lilton L. Kelley, no address provided, a member of the Buffalo Police Department since 1986, and a detective since 1994.  
  • Nellie B. King, 20 Treehaven Road, who has a master of science in education and worked as a teacher, elementary school principal and superintendent of the Lackawanna City School District. 
  • Reginald J. Griggs, 158 Wright Ave., resource manager of the state HIV Counseling Hotline at Roswell Park Cancer Institute. 

The Council will choose the successor for University Council Member Bonnie Russell, who ended her 10-year Council career last week. She was the only woman on the nine-member Council.

O'Rourke, one of two women to apply, wrote to Council members, "I look forward to the opportunity serving as Councilmember Russell's successor, as it is important that a woman's voice is continually and consistently represented." 

Wyatt's name has been mentioned as a front-runner for the position. He regularly interacts with all of the people who will be appointing Russell's replacement, and is close with Council President Darius G. Pridgen. 


Applicants must have lived in the University District for at least a year and must be a Democrat, as Russell is.  

The Erie County Democratic Committee is meeting this weekend to make its endorsement, though the Council does not have to abide by it. 

Whomever is appointed will serve for the rest of the year, and a special election will be held in November. Another election will be held in 2015, when all Council seats are subject to a vote. 



Bonnie Russell | City of Buffalo | Common Council | Darius Pridgen
comments powered by Disqus

About Politics Now

Robert J. McCarthy

Robert J. McCarthy

A native of Schenectady, Robert J. McCarthy came to The Buffalo News in 1982 following a six-year stint at the Olean Times Herald. He is a graduate of St. Bonaventure University, and has been covering local, state and national politics since 1992.

Tom Precious

Tom Precious

Tom Precious joined The Buffalo News in 1997 as bureau chief at the state Capitol, where he covers everything from statewide politics and state government fiscal affairs to health care, environmental and municipal government matters. Prior to The News, he worked for news outlets in Albany and Washington, DC.

Jill Terreri

Jill Terreri

Jill Terreri is an Amherst native and has covered politics and government in upstate New York since 2003. She joined The Buffalo News in 2012 and covers City Hall.

@jillterreri |

Jerry Zremski

Jerry Zremski

Jerry Zremski, The Buffalo News Washington bureau chief, has reported from the nation's capital since 1989 after joining The News as a business reporter in 1984. A graduate of Syracuse University, Zremski is a former Nieman fellow in journalism at Harvard University. In 2007, he served as president of the National Press Club.

@JerryZremski |