Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Wyatt gets committee chairmanship

By Jill Terreri

The Common Council's newest member, Rasheed Wyatt, has been appointed chairman of the Civil Service Committee, one of four committees that meet every other week.

Committee assignments are made by the Council president, Darius Pridgen, and the Council does not vote on them.  

Wyatt was appointed by the Council on Jan. 28 to fill a vacancy in the University District, and on Tuesday, the Council approved a new roster of committee appointments. 

Putting a new Council member into a committee chairmanship - which comes with a stipend - isn't new for this Council. When South Council Member Chris Scanlon was appointed in 2012, he was immediately made Finance Committee chairman. He has since ascended to lead what is arguably the Council's most important committee, Legislation. 

Long-time Council members who are not in the majority, David Franczyk and Michael LoCurto, have no chairmanships. 

Here is the new roster of committee assignments: 

Claims: Deals with settlements from legal claims brought against the city, meets infrequently.

Chair: David Rivera. Members: Joe Golombek, LoCurto, Wyatt. 

Civil Service: Deals with appointments and personnel matters, meets every other Tuesday. 

Chair: Wyatt. Members: Rivera, Rich Fontana, Demone Smith. 

Community Development: Deals with federal block grant spending, Peace Bridge issues, land sales, meets every other Tuesday. 

Chair: Golombek. Members: LoCurto, Scanlon, Rivera, Wyatt. 

Finance: Deals with expense of city funds, Comptroller's Office, bond resolutions, meets every other Tuesday. 

Chair: Fontana. Members: LoCurto, Rivera, Wyatt, Smith. 

Legislation: Deals with charter changes, local laws, use permits, food store licenses, meets every other Tuesday. 

Chair: Scanlon. Members: Francyzk, Golombek, Rivera, Smith. 


Christopher Scanlon | City of Buffalo | Common Council | Darius Pridgen | David Franczyk | David Rivera | Demone Smith | Joseph Golombek | Michael LoCurto | Rich Fontana
comments powered by Disqus

About Politics Now

Robert J. McCarthy

Robert J. McCarthy

A native of Schenectady, Robert J. McCarthy came to The Buffalo News in 1982 following a six-year stint at the Olean Times Herald. He is a graduate of St. Bonaventure University, and has been covering local, state and national politics since 1992.

Tom Precious

Tom Precious

Tom Precious joined The Buffalo News in 1997 as bureau chief at the state Capitol, where he covers everything from statewide politics and state government fiscal affairs to health care, environmental and municipal government matters. Prior to The News, he worked for news outlets in Albany and Washington, DC.

Jill Terreri

Jill Terreri

Jill Terreri is an Amherst native and has covered politics and government in upstate New York since 2003. She joined The Buffalo News in 2012 and covers City Hall.

@jillterreri |

Jerry Zremski

Jerry Zremski

Jerry Zremski, The Buffalo News Washington bureau chief, has reported from the nation's capital since 1989 after joining The News as a business reporter in 1984. A graduate of Syracuse University, Zremski is a former Nieman fellow in journalism at Harvard University. In 2007, he served as president of the National Press Club.

@JerryZremski |