Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Who'll be the class of the classes?

Below are this week's individual rankings from the Wrestling Review of Western New York. In today's paper we broke the weight classes down by classification.

So who will prevail this weekend to earn berths in the Section VI championships?

Tell us who in the comments section below.

Top three listed in order, honorable mentions (HM) listed in alphabetical order.

96: Carlene Sluberski (Fredonia-12); Tom Page (Eden-9); Steven Michel (Lancaster-7). HM: Logan Miller (Ripley-8); Brandon Muntz (Falconer-8); Nick Roberts (Iroquois-9).

103: Tim Schaefer (Lancaster-8); Justin Ranallo (Canisius-12); Kevin Strong (Frewsburg-9). HM: Collin Drescher (Clarence-11); Jordan McGregor (Tonawanda-10); Abdulgawi Mohamed (Lackawanna-10).

112: Kyle McGregor (Tonawanda-11); Lee Schuster (Grand Island-12); Daiquann Burney (Sweet Home-11). HM: Dave Ciaramella (Newfane-10); Tom Conti (Fredonia-12); Matt McCauley (Roy-Hart-9).

119: Matt Peters (East Aurora-12); Matt Waldmiller (Lancaster-12); Joey Malvestuto (Niagara-Wheatfield-10). HM: Ben Mikac (Williamsville East-11); Kyle Reynolds (Pine Valley-11); Emory Rowe (Ripley-9).

125: Jared Messina (Cheektowaga-12); Kevin Kot (East Aurora-12); Matt Callari (Williamsville East-12). HM: Joe Kalinka (Iroquois-11); Jerrold Roosa (Randolph-10); Dalton Scalf (Frewsburg-12).

130: Jake Beichner (Williamsville East-11); Justin Wagner (Alden-11); Nick Mitchell (Frewsburg-8). HM: Tristan Hamner (Medina-9); Wally Maziarz (North Tonawanda-11); Pat Mix (Lake Shore-10).

135: Jim Kloc (Iroquois-9); Alex Lacen (Fredonia-12); Zack Fumerelle (Sweet Home-11). HM: Phil Czapla (East Aurora-10); Derek Geiger (Medina-12); Zach Nelson (Southwestern-12).

140: Irvin Buck (Niagara Falls-10); Dominic Montesanti (Medina-11); Nate Skiba (Kenmore West-12). HM: Thom Betts (Westfield-12); Mark Manganaro (Iroquois-12); Carmen Papa (Salamanca-11).

145: Josh Micek (Maple Grove-12); Clint Schaefer (Lancaster-12); Eddie Sarcione (Eden-12). HM: Dylan Duncanson (Medina-10); Tommy Kellner (Williamsville North-12); Scott Patryzk (Cheektowaga-11).

152: Kenny Betts (Fredonia-12); Mike Kiripolsky (Cheektowaga-12); Bobby Malvestuto (Niagara-Wheatfield-12). HM: John Mistretta (Southwestern-10); Zach Penhollow (Falconer-11); Jon Strong (Frewsburg-11).

160: Clay Reeb (Cheektowaga-12); Eric Mazgaj (Southwestern-12); Josh Becker (Salamanca-12). HM: Sajen Hunt (Ripley-12); Bob Limina (Niagara-Wheatfield-12); Jake Winnie (Clarence-11).

171: Angelo Malvestuto (Niagara-Wheatfield-11); Dave Richter (Gowanda-12); Kyle Roosa (Allegany-Limestone-12). HM: Tyler Brent (Roy-Hart-12); Greg Burroughs (Fredonia-12); Zach Ward (Clarence-11).

189: Mike Blank (Albion-12); Dana Kapuscinski (Jamestown-12); Ken Hamilton (Niagara Falls-12). HM: Corey King (Fredonia-12); Eric Seeley (Allegany-Limestone-11); Keith Stoerr (Lancaster-12).

215: Kyle Colling (Pioneer-11); Matt Johnson (Niagara Falls-12); Justin Taylor (Portville-11). HM: Dan Kubiak (Lancaster-11); Pat Langworthy (Southwestern-10); James Skura (Clarence-12).

285: James Donner (Niagara-Wheatfield-11); Andrew Pingatore (Cassadaga Valley-11); Blair Bell (CHeektowaga-12). HM: Dom Fraterrigo (Kenmore East-12); Jon Jones (Portville-12); Aaron Kroll (Gowanda-11).

---Keith McShea


comments powered by Disqus

About Prep Talk

Keith McShea

Keith McShea

Keith McShea has covered high school sports at The News since his hiring in 1999. The 1995 University at Buffalo graduate and Long Island native (North Babylon Bulldogs) covers — and live blogs — everything from scrimmages to state championships & helps head The News' All-Western New York selections.

@KeithMcSheaBN |