Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Lancaster football to salute title teams

Members of Lancaster's High School's championship football teams in 1969, 1989 and 1999, set aside Sept. 18. You are wanted at Foyle/Kling Field.

The Redskins are sponsoring a Salute of the Champions Night when they host Frontier in the home opener on the 18th and all players from those three team are invited. There will be a pregame dinner for the current and former athletes on Thursday of game week. The former players will also be honored in a pre-game ceremony before the 7:30 p.m. kickoff.

"We bring back Championship teams as a way of rekindling and reliving those moments players had during their era. It's important to connect those teams with our present players to put substance into our tradition,” said current coach Len Jankiewicz. "It gives the kids some first hand insight into the history of the program."

Former players planning to attend are asked to call Len Jankiewicz at 686-3270 or e-mail him at: Len Jankiewicz was coach of the 1999 and 1989 squads while Joe Foyle was the head coach in 1969.

The calendar says 2009 and that's good news for Lancaster fans. Besides the titles in 1969, 1989 and 1999, this is the 90th season of Lancaster football and its program was founded in 1919.

The 1969 team won the ECIC I title with a 4-1 record. Tom Evans rushed for 287 yards in a 34-16 win over East Seneca, a school record that remains today. The team beat Depew, 3-0, on a 23-yard field goal by John Orsolits. It was his first field goal of the season. Evans earned a spot on the ECIC all-star team along with QB Vince Iudice, end Fran Rash, linebacker Jim Falkowski and guard Fran Volpe.

Dennis Fitzsimmons was a lineman on the team. His son, Ryan, played on the 1999 squad.

The 1989 Redskins were the Federation's Division I co-champs with Lockport after both teams finished 5-1. Linebacker Anthony Zito was named first team All-NYS as well as All-WNY Jason Cwiklinski had a school record 99-yard kickoff return in the season opener.

The 1999 Redskins won the Section VI Class A title with a 21-14 win over Lockport at Ralph Wilson Stadium. Lancaster beat Depew two weeks earlier by the same score. QB Bob Hoffman was named team MVP after leading the Redskins to an 8-3 record.

Here's the names of the players on those champion squads:

1969: Sam Long, Tim Weigel, Dave Krajewski, Gary Kroecker, Dave Pietrzak, Matt Palma, Don Gallo, Pat McGuire, Bill Bradigan, John Keiffer, Ed Meyer, Stephen Fox, Dennis Nosbisch, Leon Lewek, Mark Anticolo, Jim Falkowski, Tom Evans, Kevin Canfield, Tom Scheifflee, Len Stalica, Fran Brown, Larry Millitello, Gary Renfro, Paul Murawski, Dave Plechowlak, Fred Gembar, Dave Edwards, Don Palma, Jim Singer, Mark Townsend, Steve Werelus, Fran Rash, Mike Mucciacclo, Bill Perryman, Dave Mathis, Dennis Fitzsimmons, Mike Marranca, Chris Brunea, Jim Wulf, Mike Meagher, Paul Anthony, Phil Fragale, Bill Kling, Vince Iudice, Charles Bunting, Ken Wasulko, John Orsolits, Greg Stepien, Keith Wagner, Bruce Moody, Gary Shultz, Mike Papilli, Fran Volpe.

1989: Marty Siminski, Jeff Diegelman, Tom Freund, Derek Peters, Dan Sommer, Fred Drabek, Greg Wallo, Mark Scheer, Shane Kreinheder, Jon Wawrowski, Brian Aldinger, Jason Cwiklinski, Mike Curran, Jim Len, Ken Widger, Scott Gawinski, Terry McCarthy, Dan Ryszka, Jim Rozier, Tony Nataizla, Eric Wagner, Chris Cook, Sean Machovoe, Sean Haen, Bob Connors, Kevin Dudas, Ed Duncan, Chris Muhitch, Keith Polanski, Randy Serafini, Rich Yaeger, Mike Lewandowski, Joel Cristall, Glen Maddock, Brian Fleck, Mike Cronin, Gary Yavicoll, Rob Hammann, Steve Koclszewski, Justin Tadusz, Mark Klinger, Jeremiah Stoldt, Mark Mikula, Anthony Zito, Sean Robnett, Chad Kuras, Mike Wolford, Brian McKenzie, Mark Shoemaker, Kirk Woronowski, Don Corriere, Kyle Suckow, Dave Gadra, Torn Bulera, Adam Knobloch, Dave Cisco, Pat Friedmann, Jason Fehringer, Dave Marciniak.

1999: Aaron Minter, Daniel Napier, Nick Piatkowski, Brian Sebaaly, Phil Rizzi, Brandon Suchan, Tony Yavicoli, Scott Payne, Aaron Olejniczak, Michael Suchan, Kevin Szczesny, Matt Dick, Matt Newman, Mike Warner, Mark Carrow, Don Pionessa, Sean Tierney, Mike Sebaaly, Bobby Hoffman, Kevin Durkin, Jeremy Lynch, Ty Godinho, Nathan Aldinger, Marc Streebel, Scott Rick, Jeff Wass, Logan Gaffney, Derek Ziders, Tom White, Jeff Metcalf, Jim Madejewski, Josh Harman, Bill Martek, Ken Reitmeier, Tom Weir, Nick Mirco, Eric Pych, Chris Klinger, Chris Lauricella, Chris Cole, Stephan Shelley, Ryan Marranca, Jason Zika, Anthony Williams, Doug Thielman, Justin Hoinski, Ryan Fitzsimmons, Stephen Paone, Adam Myszka, Shawn Murphy, Damien Kwiatkowski, Steven Pease, Eric Chadwick, Mark Rogala, Marc Chaves, Kyle Haniszewski.

---Mary Jo Monnin


Depew | Frontier | High school football | Lancaster | Lockport
comments powered by Disqus

About Prep Talk

Keith McShea

Keith McShea

Keith McShea has covered high school sports at The News since his hiring in 1999. The 1995 University at Buffalo graduate and Long Island native (North Babylon Bulldogs) covers — and live blogs — everything from scrimmages to state championships & helps head The News' All-Western New York selections.

@KeithMcSheaBN |