Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

The 2010 All-WNY girls basketball team: How'd we do?

The 2010 All-Western New York girls basketball team is in the paper and on our Web site, along with a ton of information and a super-cool wraparound cover.

After you check out everything here -- including the video and the slideshow -- you best go out and get a paper to get a copy of the cover.

Here is the discussion that led up to this point. Thank you for keeping the debate respectful to all. The comments section awaits below ...

2009 All-Western New York girls basketball team

First team
F Rachel Bantelman, Olean (5-11, 12) [PLAYER OF THE YEAR]
G Joelle Pollak, Kenmore East (5-6, 12)
G Katie Purcell, Mount Mercy (5-8, 12)
G Shaquita Smith, Amherst (5-6, 12)
C Lea Sobieraski, Lockport (6-0, 12)

Second team
G Kallie Banker, Grand Island (5-9, 10)
G Corrin Genovese, Wmsv. North (5-7, 11)
C Sarah Pawlak, Sacred Heart (5-10, 11)
G Raeann Stilwell, St. Mary's (5-3, 11)
G Lindsay Stoddard, Allegany-Limestone (5-6, 12)

Third team
C Jessica Curry, Wilson (6-0, 12)
F Ashling Flannery, Pioneer (6-0, 12)
G Marah Maycock, Randolph (5-8, 10)
F Bianca Smiley, Sweet Home (6-0, 12)
G Sloane Walton, Nichols (5-10, 11)

Fourth team
F Sadie Breen, Jamestown (6-0 (11)
G Brooke DeMarco, Grand Island (5-9, 11)
C Jaymie Druding, Orchard Park (6-2, 12)
C Andrea Lictus, Clymer (5-10, 12)
F Brianna Smith, Nichols (5-8, 12)

Honorable mention
(Underclassmen indicated by grade after name)
Hannah Herc (Eden)( Jill Fitzner (Immaculata), Sydney Bennink (Clymer), Candis Kapuscinski (Holland), Becca Rumschik (Williamsville East), Nikole Lindquist (Pine Valley), Christina Healy-11 (Sacred Heart), Erin O'Brien (Nardin), Meaghan Heldwein-11 (Nichols), Caroline Randall-11 (Lockport), Renee Schwartz (Lockport), Caitlin Martin (Allegany-Limestone), Grace Williamson (Olean), Kristen Hall (Holy Angels), Brianna Johnson (Mount St. Mary), Mary Cain (Niagara Catholic), Jaimie Warren (Frontier), Julia Smith (Orchard Park), Julie Hagner (Hamburg), Kristin Biela-11 (Franklinville), Ashley Barlow (Bennett), Tiauna Young (East), Sarah Miller (City Honors), Aidan Geise (Fredonia), Madeline Apperson (Maple Grove), Shawna Raymond-9 (Frewsburg), Jenna Harrington (Roy-Hart), Sarah Marcus (Williamsville South).

The players are listed alphabetically by school.

The boys post is here.

---Keith McShea


comments powered by Disqus

About Prep Talk

Keith McShea

Keith McShea

Keith McShea has covered high school sports at The News since his hiring in 1999. The 1995 University at Buffalo graduate and Long Island native (North Babylon Bulldogs) covers — and live blogs — everything from scrimmages to state championships & helps head The News' All-Western New York selections.

@KeithMcSheaBN |