Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Section VI sending strong contingent to wrestling states

Here's a look at the sizable Section VI team headed to the state championships Friday and Saturday at the Times-Union Center in Albany.

The pictures were taken at Saturday's Section VI team practice, where coaches from throughout Western New York come together to prepare the wrestlers for the big meet.

Our thanks to Western New York Wrestling Coaches Association president and Williamsville North coach Brian Swatland for sending the pictures along (our apologies that we can't match up the names, those weren't sent along). The wrestlers are sporting sweatshirts provided by the WNYWCA.

Division I photo provided by the WNYWCA (sorry no names provided).

Division I

96: x-Anthony Orefice (Lockport), Austin Acquard (Iroquois). 103: Rocco Russo (Frontier). 112: Steve Michel (Lancaster). 119: Eric Lewandowski (Lancaster). 125: x-Dylan Caruana (Kenmore West), Dylan Cohen (Wmsv. East). 130: x-Tim Schaefer (Lancaster), Dan Reagan (Lew-Port). 135: x-Patrick Mix (Lake Shore), Jason Kromer (Lew-Port). 140: x-Mike Feeney (Lockport), Luke Falzone (Wmsv. South). 145: x-James Kloc (Iroquois), Joe Difrancesco (Niagara Falls). 152: x-Irvin Buck (Niagara Falls), Jacob Gullo (Jamestown). 160: Tyler Bruce (North Tonawanda). 171: x-Joe Amoia (Kenmore West), Nicholas Bannister (Frontier). 189: x-Jake Kelly (Niagara-Wheatfield), Rodney Offhaus (Iroquois). 215: Adam Donner (Niagara-Wheatfield). 285: Max Antone (Niagara-Wheatfield).

Division II photo provided by WNYWCA (sorry no names available).

Division II

96: x-Cody McGregor (Tonawanda), Ryan Kromer (Lew-Port). 103: x-Majed Mohamed (Lackawanna), Zach Bickle (Roy-Hart), Steve Seibert (Cassadaga Valley). 112: x-Abdulgawi Mohamed (Lackawanna), Eddie Hutschenreuter (Alden). 119: Tom Page (Eden). 125: x-Kevin Strong (Frewsburg), David Ciaramella (Newfane), Alex Smythe (Eden). 130: x-Matt McCauley (Roy-Hart), Jordan McGregor (Tonawanda). 135: x-Drew Hull (Roy-Hart), Justin Hunt (Ripley). 140: x-Dylan Duncanson (Medina), Jesse Anderson (Falconer), Brandon Hassenbohler (Alden). 145: x-Ben Haas (Salamanca), Phil Czapla (East Aurora), Azel Tapia (Albion). 152: x-Tristian Hammer (Medina), Frank Sterlace (Silver Creek), Ameen Harhara (Lackawanna). 160: x-Nick Mitchell (Frewsburg), Jerrold Roosa (Randolph), Ryan Baer (Depew). 171: x-Tony Lock (Pioneer), Marcus Dwaileebe (Olean), Kris Schimek (Pine Valley). 189: x-John Mistretta (Southwestern), Thomas Cornell (Randolph), Joe Hill (Lew-Port). 215: x-Greg Burroughs (Fredonia), Bashar Srouji (Lew-Port). 285: x-Pat Langworthy (Southwestern), Mike Kasprzak (Depew).

* * * 

For a look back at the Section VI championships, here's a link to my Division I championship story, which includes links to the championship results as well as Tyler Dunne's Division II story. There's also a my Division I blog post, which features video of several finals, as well as Dunne's post on Division II

---Keith McShea


comments powered by Disqus

About Prep Talk

Keith McShea

Keith McShea

Keith McShea has covered high school sports at The News since his hiring in 1999. The 1995 University at Buffalo graduate and Long Island native (North Babylon Bulldogs) covers — and live blogs — everything from scrimmages to state championships & helps head The News' All-Western New York selections.

@KeithMcSheaBN |