Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Section VI football alignment set for 2012

Section VI football chairman Ken Stoldt has announced that the league alignment for 2012 has been set.

Here are some notes from Stoldt on the changes, followed by the league lineup:

* Niagara-Wheatfield moved from AA down to Class A.

* Class AA now only has 11 teams.

* Williamsville East is still an A school but they shifted from A North to A South.

* Amherst moved from A down to B.

* Barker/Roy-Hart is a combined team and is back in Section VI this year after playing last year as a combined program in Section V (Rochester area). It is A school but will play a B schedule and not participate in the playoffs. Its games will not count in the B standings. They will simply be a non-league filler for the B schools in the B East division.

* Lafayette, which played in C last season, has combined with Riverside.

* Cattaraugus/Little Valley dropped from C back to D.

* The D division will have eight teams this year. It was decided that all eight will qualify for the playoffs; this will prevent a bye in the first round of the playoffs.

* Class DD will have seven schools and again will not qualify for the state playoffs. They will again compete only for a local Section VI Championship.

The league lineup:

AA NORTH: Hutch-Tech (combined with Emerson, daVinci), Kenmore West, Lockport, Niagara Falls, Riverside (combined with Buffalo Arts, City Honors, MST Seneca, OTC Middle College, Lafayette), 

AA SOUTH: Clarence, Frontier, Jamestown, Lancaster, Orchard Park, West Seneca West.

A NORTH: Grand Island, Kenmore East, McKinley, Niagara-Wheatfield, North Tonawanda, Starpoint, Sweet Home, Williamsville North.

A SOUTH: Bennett (combined with Olmsted), Hamburg, Iroquois, Lake Shore, South Park, West Seneca East, Williamsville East, Williamsville South.  

B EAST: Albion, Alden, Barker/Roy-Hart (all games will be nonleague), Depew, East, Medina, Newfane.

B WEST: Amherst, Burgard, Cheektowaga, Lackawanna, Lew-Port, Maryvale, Tonawanda. 

B SOUTH: Dunkirk, Eden, East Aurora, Olean, Pioneer, Springville.

C NORTH: Akron, Cleveland Hill, Fredonia, Gowanda, JFK, Wilson. 

C SOUTH: Allegany-Limestone, Cassadaga Valley, Falconer, Salamanca, Southwestern, Westfield/Brocton.

D: Cattaraugus/Little Valley, Chautauqua Lake, Frewsburg, International Prep at Grover Cleveland, Maple Grove, Portville, Randolph, Silver Creek.

DD: Clymer, Ellicottville/West Valley, Franklinville, Forestville, Panama, Pine Valley, Sherman/Ripley. 

Stoldt said the schedule is nearing completion.

---Keith McShea

(@KeithMcSheaBN on Twitter)

comments powered by Disqus

About Prep Talk

Keith McShea

Keith McShea

Keith McShea has covered high school sports at The News since his hiring in 1999. The 1995 University at Buffalo graduate and Long Island native (North Babylon Bulldogs) covers — and live blogs — everything from scrimmages to state championships & helps head The News' All-Western New York selections.

@KeithMcSheaBN |