Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

2013 Prep Talk/BCANY Awards banquet list of honorees

By Keith McShea

Here is the entire list of award winners from Monday's second Prep Talk/BCANY Awards banquet at Ilio DiPaolo's.

The event was supported by The Buffalo News, BCANY, ADPRO Sports and UNYTS. Sal Capaccio of WGR and Time Warner Cable Sports donated his time as the emcee.

All-BCANY Large Schools: Johnathan Belton, Amherst-12, Marcus Morris, McKinley-12, Matt MacDonald, Canisius-12 Lovell Smith, McKinley-12, Ryan Funk, Clarence-11, J.J. Wilkins, Niagara Falls-12, Nate Wilkinson, Iroquois-12, Jordan Glover, St, Joe’s-12, Tommy Campion, Jamestown-12, Sterling Taplin, Williamsville North-11

All-BCANY Small Schools: Jordan Parker, Cleveland Hill-12, Ahmad Abdo, Lackawanna-12, Wil Bathurst, Olean-11, Keir Anderson, Middle Early College-12, Sam Eckstrom, Olean-11, Gerald Bibbs, Oracle Charter-12, Paul Rath, St. Mary’s/Lanc.-12, Zed Williams, Silver Creek-12, Tyree Tyson, East-11, Clayton Hess, Tonawanda-12.

BCANY WNY Players of the Year (also earn “Best of BCANY” designation as two of the top 50 players in New York State) Adam Weir, Canisius and Jermaine Crumpton, Niagara Falls

BCANY Coaches Awards

ECIC: Chris Kensy, Amherst. ECIC I: Ben Drake, Jamestown. ECIC II: Scott Martin, Sweet Home. ECIC III: Chris Kensy, Amherst. ECIC IV: Tim Foley, Lackawanna. Niagara-Orleans: Eric Klumpp, Newfane. Monsignor Martin A: Kyle Husband, Canisius. Monsignor Martin B: Paul Rath, St. Mary’s. Yale Cup: Zaire Dorsey, McKinley. Niagara Frontier League: Sal Constantino, Niagara Falls. Charter Schools: Brian Pawloski, Oracle Charter. CCAA: Rob Genco, Silver Creek.

Class AA: Ben Drake, Jamestown. A: Zaire Dorsey, McKinley. B: Jeff Anastasia. Olean. C: Rob Genco, Silver Creek.

Note: For a coach (or his players) to be eligible for BCANY Awards, he must be a member of BCANY.

Lifetime Achievement Awards: Paul Hutzler, WNY statistician; Bill Russell, Riverside coach

Contributor Award: Pastor-Cooper Memorial Tournament & Memory of David Cooper

IAABO Board 53 Official of the Year: Mike Lonski

Press Row Award: Jonah Bronstein,

Milestone Award – 200 Victories: Larry Jones, Depew.

A’aron Mungro All-Hustle Team (named for the 2003 City Honors state champion who packed 7 feet of heart into his 5-10 frame): Jonathan Kinley, East-12, Shaquille Brooks, Lackawanna-12, Tarron Scott, Middle Early College-11, Max Portlow, Olean-12, Kaine Kettle, Silver Creek-11, Quinn Gill, St. Mary’s-12.

Glue Guys (did it all in team’s tremendous seasons): Zack Panebianco, Jamestown-10, Ramir Burton, Niagara Falls-12, Steve Marcey, Silver Creek-12, Jordan Glover, St. Joe’s-12.

Championship Week “Rebound” Award: Ryan Dougherty, Bishop Timon-St. Jude-12

Championship Week Best Shot: Marcus Morris, McKinley-12

All-Championship Week Team: DaeQuan Warren, McKinley-12, Branden Kellam, Jamestown-10, Nick Schmidt, Olean-11, Johnathon Lewis, East-11, Tyree Tyson, East-11, Quinton Campbell, Kenmore West-12, Bill Brooks, Silver Creek-10, Damone Harris, Bishop Timon-St. Jude-12, Ryan Funk, Clarence-11, Nate Wilkinson, Iroquois-12, Jordan Parker, Cleveland Hill-12, Gerald Bibbs, Oracle-12.

Sixth Man Award (selected by Chad “Centercourt” Andrews): Max Portlow, Olean-12

All-Western New York

Fourth Team: Donte Williams, Bishop Timon-St. Jude-11; Reyjzon Jordan, McKinley-12; J.J. Wilkins, Niagara Falls-12; Zach Blask, Portville-12; Tyrell Mitchell, South Park-12.

Third Team: Johnathan Belton, Amherst-12; Matt MacDonald, Canisius-12; Darnell Carson, CSAT-12; Lovell Smith, McKinley-12; Paul Rath, St. Mary’s-12

Second Team: Aaron White, Canisius-12; Tommy Campion, Jamestown-12; Keir Anderson, Middle Early College-12; Sam Eckstrom, Olean-11; Zed Williams, Silver Creek-12.

First Team: Adam Weir, Canisius-12, Marcus Morris, McKinley-12; Sterling Taplin, Williamsville North-11; Jermaine Crumpton, Niagara Falls-12; Wil Bathurst, Olean-11.

The Buffalo News Large School Poll Champions: co.-No 1 McKinley Macks (22-4), coach Zaire Dorsey. Canisius Crusaders (23-5), coach Kyle Husband.

The Buffalo News Small School Poll Champions: Olean Huskies (22-2), coach Jeff Anastasia

Allen Wilson Player of the Year Award: Adam Weir, Canisius-12


comments powered by Disqus

About Prep Talk

Keith McShea

Keith McShea

Keith McShea has covered high school sports at The News since his hiring in 1999. The 1995 University at Buffalo graduate and Long Island native (North Babylon Bulldogs) covers — and live blogs — everything from scrimmages to state championships & helps head The News' All-Western New York selections.

@KeithMcSheaBN |