Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

The Bills' not-so-super, top 10 tight end list

By Mark Gaughan

Tight end Scott Chandler has 39 catches in 18 games played for the Buffalo Bills. As long as he stays healthy, it’s reasonable to expect him to make 40 catches this season. If that happens, he already will have injected himself into the top 10 of the Bills’ all-time catches list for the position.

Tight end has not been a position bathed in glory for the Bills. When Lonnie Johnson -– best known for his Wile E. Coyote collision into a wall (Green Bay’s Darren Sharper) on a fake punt reception in 1997 -– is your No. 3 all-time at the position, you know you have not had many studs playing tight end.

On the positive side, the Bills’ No. 1 tight end, Pete Metzelaars, is a very worthy player to be at the top of the list. Besides being a sure-handed receiver and a consistent first-down maker, Metzelaars was a great blocker. As noted in Saturday's Buffalo News, Metzelaars now is training the Bills’ current tight ends on the rough trade of blocking.

Metzelaars was a monster blocker in the 1993 AFC title game victory against Kansas City. So often what players remember most about big games is not what you'd expect.

Here’s Metzelaars' top recollection of the game:

"I dislocated my pinky the week before against the Raiders. So I had a splint on it and got it shot up so I could play in the game because all week if anybody touched it at all, it killed me. ... We ran 'em out of the stadium that day and beat Joe Montana up."

Here’s a list of the Bills top 10 tight ends, ranked by catches:

Player                    Games   Rec.    Yards  TDs
1. Pete Metzelaars    156    302    2,921      25
2. Jay Riemersma      90     204     2,304    20
3. Lonnie Johnson      74     153     1,489     5
4. Reuben Gant          88     127     1,850    15
5. Keith McKeller        68     124     1,489    11
6. Mark Brammer       65     116     1,137    10
7. Paul Costa             52     102     1,699      6
8. Ernie Warlick         56       90     1,551     4
9. Robert Royal          47       81        832     7
10. Mark Campbell     42       70        681     6

comments powered by Disqus

About Press Coverage

Tim Graham

Tim Graham

Tim Graham returned to The Buffalo News in 2011 after covering the NFL for three years at ESPN and for one year at the Palm Beach Post. Before that, the Cleveland native spent seven seasons on the Buffalo Sabres beat for The News and was president of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

@ByTimGraham |

Mark Gaughan

Mark Gaughan

Buffalo native Mark Gaughan started working at The News in 1980 and has been covering the Bills exclusively since 1992. He is a former president of the Pro Football Writers of America, and he is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

@gggaughan |

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski joined The News in January 2009. The Lewiston native attended St. Francis High School before graduating from the University of South Florida. He writes a weekly Fantasy column in addition to his beat writing duties.

@JaySkurski |