Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Bills roster rotations

By Mark Gaughan

Here’s a roundup of most of the Buffalo Bills’ lineup rotations in Friday night’s exhibition opener against Washington:

First OL: LT Cordy Glenn, LG Andy Levitre, C Kraig Urbik, RG Chad Rinehart, RT Chris Hairston. Second OL: LT Cordy Glenn, LG Mark Asper, C Colin Brown, RG Keith Williams, RT Sam Young. Next OL: LT Sam Young, LG Mark Asper, C Colin Brown, RG Keith Williams, RT Zebrie Sanders. Next OL: LT Sam Young, LG David Snow, C Jake Vermiglio, RG Colin Brown, RT Zebrie Sanders. Later: Young, Snow, Asper, Brown and Sanders: Fourth quarter: James Carmon, Michael Jasper, Snow, Vermiglio and Sanders.

First QB: Ryan Fitzpatrick. Second QB: Tyler Thigpen. Third QB: Vince Young. Fourth QB: Brad Smith.

First RBs: Fred Jackson, C.J. Spiller. Second-team RB: Tashard Choice. Third-team RB: Johnny White. Fourth-team RB: Zach Brown.

WRs: They rotated a lot. The depth chart listing held up, with Stevie Johnson and Donald Jones at the top. David Nelson sat out. Next was T. J. Graham and Derek Hagan, then Ruvell Martin and David Clowney, then the group of Marcus Easley, Kamar Aiken, Naaman Roosevelt and Derek Session. At tight end, it went Scott Chandler, Dorin Dickerson and Lee Smith, then Fendi Onobun.

First DL: Mario Williams, Marcell Dareus, Kyle Williams and Chris Kelsay. Mark Anderson rotated with Kelsay. Starting on the third series, Spencer Johnson and Dwan Edwards rotated in at defensive tackle. Second DL: Anderson, Johnson, Edwards and Shawne Merriman. The next rotation saw Kyle Moore at left end, with Johnson, Edwards and Merriman. Then it was Moore, Johnson, Edwards and Robert Eddins. Third DL: Moore, Alex Carrington, Kellen Heard and Eddins. Then Jay Ross and Jarron Gilbert rotated in at tackle, and Sean Ferguson worked at end.

First LBs: Nick Barnett, Kelvin Sheppard and Arthur Moats. On the second series Kirk Morrison rotated in for Moats. Bryan Scott worked with the first-team nickel defense at LB. Scott McKillop rotated in at MLB on the third series. After that, there was extensive rotation. In the third quarter it was Nigel Bradham, McKillop and Chris White. Then it was White, Tank Carder and Danny Batten.

First CBs: Stephon Gilmore and Aaron Williams started. Leodis McKlevin was the nickel corner. Second CBs: McKelvin and Ron Brooks, with Prince Miller as the nickel corner. Then Isaiah Greeen was the next corner in. For part of the second half, Miller and Green were the CB duo, then Cris Hill.

First S: Jairus Byrd and George Wilson. Second S: Da’Norris Searcy and Nick Saenz. Then: Nick Sukay worked in, followed by Jake Nesbitt and Delano Howell.

comments powered by Disqus

About Press Coverage

Tim Graham

Tim Graham

Tim Graham returned to The Buffalo News in 2011 after covering the NFL for three years at ESPN and for one year at the Palm Beach Post. Before that, the Cleveland native spent seven seasons on the Buffalo Sabres beat for The News and was president of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

@ByTimGraham |

Mark Gaughan

Mark Gaughan

Buffalo native Mark Gaughan started working at The News in 1980 and has been covering the Bills exclusively since 1992. He is a former president of the Pro Football Writers of America, and he is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

@gggaughan |

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski joined The News in January 2009. The Lewiston native attended St. Francis High School before graduating from the University of South Florida. He writes a weekly Fantasy column in addition to his beat writing duties.

@JaySkurski |