Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Horde of ESPN soothsayers lukewarm on Bills

By Tim Graham

ESPN's platoon of NFL analysts have submitted their picks to the Central NFL Predictions Registry.

While I'm not one to excitedly parse out predictions from a single writer or former player-turned-analyst, I do think it's interesting to see how an entire group thinks.

ESPN's public relations department produced a chart that displays how 23 of their NFL commentators voted on divisional champions, wild cards, the Super Bowl winner and league MVP.

Eight of the 23 predicted the Bills would earn a wild-card playoff berth and conclude their playoff drought. None chose the Bills to win the AFC East.

Here's who backed the Bills (you might notice some names Bills fans have considered villains): Lomas Brown, Tedy Bruschi, Cris Carter, John Clayton, Herm Edwards, Chris Mortensen, Adam Schefter and Damien Woody.

Only one analyst didn't pick the New England Patriots to take the division crown.

Hugh Douglas went with his former team, the New York Jets, and didn't have the Patriots making the postseason at all. Douglas also has Mark Sanchez winning MVP and the Jets making it to the Super Bowl. Homer picks.

As you might imagine, nobody put the Bills in the Super Bowl, and nobody foresaw a Bill winning league MVP.

The most common championship prediction went to the Green Bay Packers with six votes. The Philadelphia Eagles and San Francisco 49ers received five votes apiece.

Only two picked the Patriots to win the Super Bowl.

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was the leader for MVP with six votes, followed by Patriots quarterback Tom Brady with four and Drew Brees with three.

comments powered by Disqus

About Press Coverage

Tim Graham

Tim Graham

Tim Graham returned to The Buffalo News in 2011 after covering the NFL for three years at ESPN and for one year at the Palm Beach Post. Before that, the Cleveland native spent seven seasons on the Buffalo Sabres beat for The News and was president of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

@ByTimGraham |

Mark Gaughan

Mark Gaughan

Buffalo native Mark Gaughan started working at The News in 1980 and has been covering the Bills exclusively since 1992. He is a former president of the Pro Football Writers of America, and he is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

@gggaughan |

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski joined The News in January 2009. The Lewiston native attended St. Francis High School before graduating from the University of South Florida. He writes a weekly Fantasy column in addition to his beat writing duties.

@JaySkurski |