Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Andre Reed, Steve Tasker make Hall of Fame semifinalist ballot

By Tim Graham

Andre Reed and Steve Tasker are among the 27 semifinalists for the 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame ballot.

Names of the semifinalists were announced this afternoon.

Reed has been on the verge of enshrinement. He has been one of the 15 finalists each of the past six years. He's part of a three-man receiver logjam with Cris Carter and Tim Brown, both of whom are semifinalists again this time.

Tasker has been a semifinalist before but never has reached the finalist stage.

Fifteen modern-era finalists will be announced in January and join two Seniors Committee nominees (defensive tackle Curley Culp and linebacker Dave Robinson) for the last vote.

The other semifinalists:

  • * Offensive lineman Larry Allen
  • * Kicker Morten Andersen
  • * Safety Steve Atwater
  • * Running back Jerome Bettis
  • * Head coach Don Coryell
  • * Running back Roger Craig
  • * Running back Terrell Davis
  • * Owner Eddie DeBartolo
  • * Defensive end Kevin Greene
  • * Defensive end Charles Haley
  • * Tackle Joe Jacoby
  • * Cornerback Albert Lewis
  • * Safety John Lynch
  • * Linebacker Karl Mecklenburg
  • * Owner Art Modell
  • * Tackle Jonathan Ogden
  • * Coach Bill Parcells
  • * Defensive tackle Warren Sapp
  • * Guard Will Shields
  • * Defensive end Michael Strahan
  • * Commissioner Paul Tagliabue
  • * Defensive back Aeneas Williams
  • * Contributor George Young
comments powered by Disqus

About Press Coverage

Tim Graham

Tim Graham

Tim Graham returned to The Buffalo News in 2011 after covering the NFL for three years at ESPN and for one year at the Palm Beach Post. Before that, the Cleveland native spent seven seasons on the Buffalo Sabres beat for The News and was president of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

@ByTimGraham |

Mark Gaughan

Mark Gaughan

Buffalo native Mark Gaughan started working at The News in 1980 and has been covering the Bills exclusively since 1992. He is a former president of the Pro Football Writers of America, and he is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

@gggaughan |

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski joined The News in January 2009. The Lewiston native attended St. Francis High School before graduating from the University of South Florida. He writes a weekly Fantasy column in addition to his beat writing duties.

@JaySkurski |