Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

A rundown on NFL's committee power brokers

By Mark Gaughan

The NFL's competition committee got a lot of attention last week after the league passed a new rule making it illegal for running backs to lower the crown of their helmets outside the tackle box. The competition committee is comprised of eight coaches or general managers who oversee competition and suggest rules changes.

The panel's chairman is Rich McKay, president of the Atlanta Falcons. The others on the committee are: Rams coach Jeff Fisher, Cowboys CEO Stephen Jones, Bengals coach Marvin Lewis, Giants co-owner John Mara, Packers president Mark Murphy, Ravens general manager Ozzie Newsome and Texans general manager Rick Smith.

Here's a rundown on the executives who head the other committees in the NFL:


Committee chiefs in the NFL's football operations business: Subcommittee on college relations, Panthers president Danny Morrison. Coaches subcommittee, Hall of Fame coach John Madden. Heath and safety, 49ers owner John York. Player safety advisory panel, Madden and Hall of Fame player Ronnie Lott.

The heads of the finance panels: Finance committee, Texans owner Bob McNair. Audit, Falcons owner Arthur Blank. Investment, Jets owner Woody Johnson. Employee Benefits, Saints owner Rita LeBlanc. Compensation, Falcons owner Arthur Blank. Stadium, Steelers owner Art Rooney. Stadium security and fan behavior: Cardinals president Michael Bidwill.

Business committees: Broadcasting, Patriots owner Robert Kraft, NFL Network, Cowboys owner Jerry Jones. Digital media, Redskins owner Dan Snyder and Patriots president Jonathan Kraft. Business ventures, Chargers president Dean Spanos. Super Bowl advisory, Bengals executive vice president Katie Blackburn. Hall of Fame, Cowboys owner Jerry Jones. International, Chiefs owner Clark Hunt. Legislative, Colts owner Jim Irsay. NFL Foundation, Cowboys executive vice president Charlotte Anderson.

Labor committes: Management Council executive committee, Giants co-owner John Mara. Workplace diversity, Bengals executive vice president Katie Blackburn.

Russ Brandon, Buffalo Bills president and chief executive officer, serves on the business ventures committee. Mary Owen, Bills executive vice president of strategic planning, serves on the International committee, the NFL Foundation and the Super Bowl advisory committee. Jeff Littmann, Bills chief financial officer, serves on the labor-management working group and the investment committee.


NFL Competition Committee
comments powered by Disqus

About Press Coverage

Tim Graham

Tim Graham

Tim Graham returned to The Buffalo News in 2011 after covering the NFL for three years at ESPN and for one year at the Palm Beach Post. Before that, the Cleveland native spent seven seasons on the Buffalo Sabres beat for The News and was president of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

@ByTimGraham |

Mark Gaughan

Mark Gaughan

Buffalo native Mark Gaughan started working at The News in 1980 and has been covering the Bills exclusively since 1992. He is a former president of the Pro Football Writers of America, and he is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

@gggaughan |

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski joined The News in January 2009. The Lewiston native attended St. Francis High School before graduating from the University of South Florida. He writes a weekly Fantasy column in addition to his beat writing duties.

@JaySkurski |