Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Gilchrist, Lamonica among Hall of Very Good nominees

By Mark Gaughan

Buffalo Bills great Cookie Gilchrist and former Bills quarterback Daryle Lamonica are among 20 players nominated for the Hall of Very Good by the Pro Football Researchers Association.

The researchers group started the honor in 2003 as a way to recognize outstanding players who were not in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Every year between eight and 10 are given the Hall of Very Good distinction. The non-profit PFRA was formed in 1979 and is open to any fan interested in the history of professional football. Its members have worked to compile statistics from games of long ago, compile play-by-play game books, document the names of all officials in NFL history, and many other research projects. The group also produces a magazine, The Coffin Corner, six times a year.

Last year, Bills great Jack Kemp and South Dayton, N.Y., native Bill Bergey were named to the HOVG. In 2011, defensive tackle Tom Sestak and coach Lou Saban became the first two Bills to be honored.

The other 18 finalists this year are:

Tackle Grady Alderman, defensive back Erich Barnes, linebacker Mike Curtis, quarterback Roman Gabriel, guard Gale Gillingham, linebacker Larry Grantham, guard Ken Gray, receiver Charlie Hennigan, defensive end Rich “Tombstone” Jackson, guard Bob Kuechenberg, tackle George Kunz, back Tony Latone, defensive end Harvey Martin, cornerback Lemar Parrish, guard Duane Putnam, safety Donnie Shell, defensive end Bill Stanfill and tackle Jim Tyrer.

Gilchrist made first-team all-American Football League three times, in 1962, ’64 and ’65. He rushed for 4,293 yards in 4 ½ seasons. He had rushing yards 3,056 and 35 touchdowns in three seasons with the Bills.

Lamonica played for the Bills from 1963 to 1966, mostly as the backup to Jack Kemp. He was dealt to Oakland in 1967 in the worst trade in Bills history. “The Mad Bomber” started the next six seasons for the Raiders, posting a 61-14-6 record and making five all-star games.

Two of the nominees received all-decade honors. Tyrer was one of two offensive tackles on the AFL’s all-decade team. Martin was one of four defensive ends on the NFL’s all-decade team of the ‘70s.


Cookie Gilchrist | Daryle Lamonica | Jack Kemp | Lou Saban | Tom Sestak
comments powered by Disqus

About Press Coverage

Tim Graham

Tim Graham

Tim Graham returned to The Buffalo News in 2011 after covering the NFL for three years at ESPN and for one year at the Palm Beach Post. Before that, the Cleveland native spent seven seasons on the Buffalo Sabres beat for The News and was president of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

@ByTimGraham |

Mark Gaughan

Mark Gaughan

Buffalo native Mark Gaughan started working at The News in 1980 and has been covering the Bills exclusively since 1992. He is a former president of the Pro Football Writers of America, and he is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

@gggaughan |

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski joined The News in January 2009. The Lewiston native attended St. Francis High School before graduating from the University of South Florida. He writes a weekly Fantasy column in addition to his beat writing duties.

@JaySkurski |