Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Jeff Saturday, Frank Reich, Andre Reed top Call to Courage event

By Mark Gaughan

Former Indianapolis Colts All-Pro center Jeff Saturday will receive the top award at the 12th annual Call to Courage Award breakfast on April 6.

The event will be held from 9 to 11 a.m. at the Hyatt Regency Buffalo, and tickets still are available.

Former Buffalo Bills quarterback Frank Reich created the event to recognize an NFL player who exemplifies outstanding character, commitment and leadership on the field and in the community. Past winners include Curtis Martin, Kurt Warner and London Fletcher.

This year's event also will recognize the 20th anniversary of the greatest comeback in NFL history -- the Bills' wild-card playoff victory over the Houston Oilers in 1993.

Reich will be joined by former Bills Andre Reed, Steve Tasker, Don Beebe and Kenneth Davis. The event will include video highlights of the game and a panel discussion on it. Those attending will get a limited-edition comeback poster. Bills kicker Rian Lindell is honorary chairman of this year's breakfast.

Also to be honored is retired U.S. Army Major Anthony Smith from Arkansas. In 2004, Smith took a direct hit from a rocket-propelled grenade while serving in Iraq. The missile went through his hip and stomach before it exploded, throwing him against a brick wall. Shrapnel took off his arm and the enemy fired several rounds at his maimed body. Smith was declared killed in action and placed in a body bag. As the bag was being zipped shut, it was noticed that Smith still was alive.

Tickets are $40 each. For information call 716-559-1800 or look to aiabuffalo on Facebook.


Frank Reich
comments powered by Disqus

About Press Coverage

Tim Graham

Tim Graham

Tim Graham returned to The Buffalo News in 2011 after covering the NFL for three years at ESPN and for one year at the Palm Beach Post. Before that, the Cleveland native spent seven seasons on the Buffalo Sabres beat for The News and was president of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

@ByTimGraham |

Mark Gaughan

Mark Gaughan

Buffalo native Mark Gaughan started working at The News in 1980 and has been covering the Bills exclusively since 1992. He is a former president of the Pro Football Writers of America, and he is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

@gggaughan |

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski joined The News in January 2009. The Lewiston native attended St. Francis High School before graduating from the University of South Florida. He writes a weekly Fantasy column in addition to his beat writing duties.

@JaySkurski |