Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Fourth-round picks historically have a cup of coffee with Bills

By Tim Graham

With the 105th pick of the 2013 NFL draft, the Buffalo Bills select ...

A fan will utter that line and reveal the name of that player April 27 in Radio City Music Hall.

Tim Hortons and the Bills are running a contest that will allow a fan to announce their fourth-round draft pick.

What kind of treat will that be? Based on the past dozen Bills fourth-round draft choices, you might want a box of Timbits instead.

Bills fourth-round picks since their last playoff season:

  • 2012: Nigel Bradham, Ron Brooks
  • 2011: Da'Norris Searcy, Chris Hairston
  • 2010: Marcus Easley
  • 2009: Shawn Nelson
  • 2008: Reggie Corner, Derek Fine
  • 2007: Dwayne Wright
  • 2006: Ko Simpson
  • 2005: Duke Preston
  • 2004: Tim Euhus
  • 2003: Terrence McGee, Sam Aiken
  • 2001: Brandon Spoon
  • 2000: Avion Black

Bradham, Brooks, Searcy, Hairston and Easley still are on the roster and have their careers in front of them.

But of all the fourth-rounders taken this century, the Bills found six players who were a primary starter for a combined 12 seasons. McGee, the lone Pro Bowler on the list, started six of those seasons. Simpson started two. Nobody else was a primary starter for more than one season.

Only eight fourth-round picks in Bills history started more than two seasons for them.

At least the prize includes roundtrip airfare to New York for two people, two nights in a hotel, a $500 Visa gift card and gift packs from Tim Hortons and the Bills.

Then again, the contest winner could get lucky and introduce the next Andre Reed, one of the greatest fourth-round picks in NFL history. Butch Byrd and Stew Barber also were fourth-round picks.

To enter, fans tweeted photos of themselves to @TimHortonsUS, showing why they're the biggest Tim Hortons and Bills fans.

Finalists were chosen and have been posted online for a public vote on the winner.


2013 draft | Andre Reed | Chris Hairston | Da'Norris Searcy | Marcus Easley | Nigel Bradham | Ron Brooks | Terrence McGee
comments powered by Disqus

About Press Coverage

Tim Graham

Tim Graham

Tim Graham returned to The Buffalo News in 2011 after covering the NFL for three years at ESPN and for one year at the Palm Beach Post. Before that, the Cleveland native spent seven seasons on the Buffalo Sabres beat for The News and was president of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

@ByTimGraham |

Mark Gaughan

Mark Gaughan

Buffalo native Mark Gaughan started working at The News in 1980 and has been covering the Bills exclusively since 1992. He is a former president of the Pro Football Writers of America, and he is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

@gggaughan |

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski joined The News in January 2009. The Lewiston native attended St. Francis High School before graduating from the University of South Florida. He writes a weekly Fantasy column in addition to his beat writing duties.

@JaySkurski |