Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Remember Danny Abramowicz playing for Bills? He doesn't either

By Tim Graham

Along a One Bills Drive corridor that goes past the weight room and to the field house are tiles for everyone who has played for the Buffalo Bills.

One of those tiles has Danny Abramowicz on it.

Stat databases, however, don't show Abramowicz played for the Bills.

While speaking with Abramowicz this week for an NFL Sunday story on Drew Brees, I asked the original New Orleans Saints' star about it.

Continue reading "Remember Danny Abramowicz playing for Bills? He doesn't either" »

Sixteen former Bills among 2014 Hall of Fame nominees

By Tim Graham

The Pro Football Hall of Fame today revealed the list of nominees for 2014 inductions.

The Buffalo Bills don't have any representatives who are first-year eligible, but 16 holdovers have been affiliated with the team.


  • Drew Bledsoe
  • Doug Flutie

Running back

  • Larry Centers

Wide receiver

  • Andre Reed

Offensive line

  • Kent Hull

Defensive line

  • Fred Smerlas
  • Ted Washington


  • Cornelius Bennett
  • Darryl Talley

Defensive back

  • Troy Vincent

Special teams

  • Steve Tasker


  • Tom Flores
  • Chuck Knox
  • Lou Saban
  • Marty Schottenheimer
  • Bill Polian

Neither Flores nor Schottenheimer was Bills head coach, but each played for them in the 1960s. Flores was the Bills' quarterbacks coach in 1971.

The full list of nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in late November and to 15 finalists in early January.

The 2014 class will be voted upon by the Hall of Fame's Board of Selectors, of which Buffalo News reporter Mark Gaughan is a member, the day before the Super Bowl.

Gilchrist, Lamonica among Hall of Very Good nominees

By Mark Gaughan

Buffalo Bills great Cookie Gilchrist and former Bills quarterback Daryle Lamonica are among 20 players nominated for the Hall of Very Good by the Pro Football Researchers Association.

The researchers group started the honor in 2003 as a way to recognize outstanding players who were not in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Every year between eight and 10 are given the Hall of Very Good distinction. The non-profit PFRA was formed in 1979 and is open to any fan interested in the history of professional football. Its members have worked to compile statistics from games of long ago, compile play-by-play game books, document the names of all officials in NFL history, and many other research projects. The group also produces a magazine, The Coffin Corner, six times a year.

Last year, Bills great Jack Kemp and South Dayton, N.Y., native Bill Bergey were named to the HOVG. In 2011, defensive tackle Tom Sestak and coach Lou Saban became the first two Bills to be honored.

The other 18 finalists this year are:

Continue reading "Gilchrist, Lamonica among Hall of Very Good nominees" »


About Press Coverage

Tim Graham

Tim Graham

Tim Graham returned to The Buffalo News in 2011 after covering the NFL for three years at ESPN and for one year at the Palm Beach Post. Before that, the Cleveland native spent seven seasons on the Buffalo Sabres beat for The News and was president of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

@ByTimGraham |

Mark Gaughan

Mark Gaughan

Buffalo native Mark Gaughan started working at The News in 1980 and has been covering the Bills exclusively since 1992. He is a former president of the Pro Football Writers of America, and he is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

@gggaughan |

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski

Jay Skurski joined The News in January 2009. The Lewiston native attended St. Francis High School before graduating from the University of South Florida. He writes a weekly Fantasy column in addition to his beat writing duties.

@JaySkurski |