Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Foreign legion: Three Europeans voted as Vezina finalists

By John Vogl

The NHL has announced the three finalists for the Vezina Trophy, and for the first time all three goaltenders are from Europe.

The Rangers' Henrik Lundqvist (Sweden), San Jose's Antti Niemi (Finland) and Columbus' Sergei Bobrovsky (Russia) are in the running to be named top goalie, as voted on by the league's general managers.

Bobrovsky is the favorite after leading the surprising Blue Jackets to the cusp of the playoffs. He was 21-11-6 with a 2.00 goals-against average and .932 save percentage. He'd become the first Russian to win the award.

Lundqvist won last year and is a finalist for the fifth time.

The first European Vezina winner was Philadelphia's Pelle Lindbergh (Sweden) in 1985. Dominik Hasek (Czech Republic) has won the most with six.


NHL Awards
comments powered by Disqus
John Vogl

John Vogl

John Vogl has been covering the Sabres since 2002-03, an era that has included playoff runs, last-place finishes and three ownership changes. The award-winning writer is the Buffalo chapter chairman for the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

@BuffNewsVogl |

About Sabres Edge

Mike Harrington

Mike Harrington

Mike Harrington, a Canisius College graduate who began his career as a News reporter in 1987, has been covering the Buffalo Sabres since 2007. He is a member of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association and can vouch that exposed flesh freezes instantly when walking in downtown Winnipeg in January.

@BNHarrington |

Amy Moritz

Amy Moritz

Amy Moritz, a native of Lockport, has a bachelor’s degree in journalism/mass communication from St. Bonaventure University and a master’s degree in humanities from the University at Buffalo. An endurance athlete, she has completed several triathlons, half marathons and marathons.

@amymoritz |