By John Vogl
CULVER CITY, Calif. -- The San Jose Sharks feel they beat the Sabres in overtime Tuesday night. The standings and the NHL tell a different story.
The Sharks did indeed push the puck over the goal line during the 5-4 shootout loss to Buffalo, and defenseman Tyler Myers quickly kicked it back out. Referee Mike Leggo blew the whistle and signaled no goal. Officials in Toronto didn't notice the puck went in until after play resumed, which was too late to change anything.
The NHL told Elliotte Friedman of CBC that the goal didn't count because of Rule 78.5, which in part reads a goal is disallowed "when the referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle."
"Had we called a goal against Buffalo it would have been wrong because it shouldn't have been a goal," Mike Murphy, NHL senior vice president of hockey operations, told Friedman. "We should have done the headsets because any controversy would have died. This type of play is not a rarity.
"The optics would have been better if we got him to put on the headset and asked what he was seeing."
Click the picture to see the play.
taggedSan Jose Sharks