Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Running notebook: Good day for a trot

By Buffalo's Thanksgiving standards, the YMCA Turkey Trot in Buffalo run was staged under almost ideal conditions. A couple of past champions took advantage of temperatures in the 40s to add to their trophy collection.

Dennis Pollow Jr. of Ransomville and Maura Frauenhofer of Hamburg were the winners in the 116th annual event, which attracted a record attendance figure of more than 13,000 runners.

Pollow won his fourth straight event, which hasn't been accomplished by a men's runner since Mark Finucane, a member of the Western New York Running Hall of Fame, swept the races from 1980 to 1983 (records before 1980 are unavailable). The current overall modern record for consecutive victories was set by Vicki Mitchell, who won five in a row from 1996 to 2000. Mitchell won eight Trots overall.

Pollow finished in 24 minutes and 42 seconds, good for a 28-second win over Aaron Lancel of Lander, Pa. Ben Snodgrass of Buffalo was third in 25:21.

On the women's side, Frauenhofer also won this event in 2009. Her time was 29:11, 16 seconds faster than her 29:27 of '09. Frauenhofer finished 10 seconds ahead of Jackie Rzepecki of Rochester, Mich., herself a three-time winner. Katie Niblock of East Amherst was third, also in 29:21.

The event was the last in The News' Runner of the Year series, but the championships had been determined before the race started. Dan Giza and Allison Carr both successfully defended their titles.

--- Budd Bailey


comments powered by Disqus

About Sports, Ink

Budd Bailey

Budd Bailey

Budd Bailey has served in a variety of roles in Buffalo sports in the past 35 years, including reporter, talk-show host, baseball announcer, public relations staffer and author. He covers the Bandits and running for The News when not working as an editor.