Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Bandits finalize roster

The Buffalo Bandits have turned over about half of their roster from last season's team that finished 7-9 and was eliminated in the first round of the National Lacrosse League playoffs.

A total of 12 players are back on the roster, while 11 newcomers are part of the 23-man squad. Three of the new faces are 2012 draft picks: Carter Bender, Dhane Smith and Hayden Smith.

Here is the breakdown by position: Forwards: Bender, Nick Cotter, Chad Culp, Mike Hominuck, Tracey Kelusky, John Tavares, Luke Wiles, Shawn Williams and Aaron Wilson. Transition: David Brock, Jon Harasym, D. Smith, H. Smith, Mark Steenhuis and Jay Thorimbert. Defensemen: Glen Bryan, Michael McNamara, Steve Priolo, Scott Self, Billy Dee Smith and Derek Suddons. Goalies: Anthony Cosmo and Kurtis Wagar.

Kevin Brownell, Craig England and Derek Hopcroft have been placed on the practice squad. Jordan Critch, Mat Giles and Jamie Rooney are on injured reserve, while Jimmy Purves has been placed on the Physically Unable to Perform list.

Marty Hill and Joel Matthews were cut, while Joe Smith is on the holdout list.

--- Budd Bailey


comments powered by Disqus

About Sports, Ink

Budd Bailey

Budd Bailey

Budd Bailey has served in a variety of roles in Buffalo sports in the past 35 years, including reporter, talk-show host, baseball announcer, public relations staffer and author. He covers the Bandits and running for The News when not working as an editor.