Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Post Time: Preakness 138 Post Draw

By Gene Kershner

The post position draw for the 138th running of the Preakness was held this afternoon at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, which included nine entries into Saturday's second jewel of the Triple Crown. The race will be televised nationally on NBC (Ch. 2) on Saturday afternoon during a two-hour telecast starting at 4:30 p.m. Pre- and post-race programming will be on NBC Sports Network.  

- Kentucky Derby winner Orb drew the rail, which has only one victory in the past 51 years (Tabasco Cat, 1994). He was instilled as the even money morning line favorite at the draw.

- Mylute (5-1) was declared the second choice on the morning line with jockey Rosie Napravnik aboard, the third female to ride in the Preakness.

- Trainer D. Wayne Lukas, seeking a sixth Preakness title has one third of the field and drew the No. 6 post for Oxbow,  the No. 7 post for Will Take Charge and the No. 3 for the newcomer and long shot, Titletown Five.

Goldencents drew the 2 hole and looks to rebound from his 17th place finish in the Derby for trainer Doug O'Neill.  

- Bob Baffert, absent from his first Derby since 2008, will run Govenor Charlie in the Preakness. Baffert has won the race five times since 1997. 

- The Illinois Derby winner Departing drew post No.4 for trainer Al Stall and comes into the race winning four of his last five races.

- The post that has the most winners since 1909 is post position No. 6, which has 15 Preakness winners. Elder statesman Gary Stevens will try and make that 16 with Oxbow on Saturday.

- The Preakness is limited to 14 starters and in 14 of the last 19 years had double-digit fields. Defections earlier this week by Vyjack and Normandy Invasion reduced the field to nine, the smallest since 2007. There will be six starters returning from the Kentucky Derby to run back in the Preakness. 

Here's a look at the posts, morning line odds as set by Frank Carulli for the field:

PP Horse Jockey Odds
1 Orb Rosario Even
2 Goldencents Krigger 8-1
3 Titletown Five Leparoux 30-1
4 Departing Hernandez 6-1
5 Mylute Napravnik 5-1
6 Oxbow Stevens 15-1
7 Will Take Charge Smith 12-1
8 Govenor Charlie Garcia 12-1
9 Itsmyluckyday Velazquez 10-1


Gene Kershner, a Buffalo-based turf writer, is a member of the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters Association and tweets @EquiSpace.


Horse Racing
comments powered by Disqus

About Sports, Ink

Budd Bailey

Budd Bailey

Budd Bailey has served in a variety of roles in Buffalo sports in the past 35 years, including reporter, talk-show host, baseball announcer, public relations staffer and author. He covers the Bandits and running for The News when not working as an editor.